Notice From The New London Gazetteer (1826)
Galway is a county of Ireland, in Connaught, 82 miles long and 42 miles wide; bounded on the west by the Atlantic Ocean, north by County Mayo and Roscommon, east by Roscommon, King's county, and Tipperary, and south by County Clare and Galway bay; it contains 2593 square miles and is divided into 116 parishes.

The greater part is fertile, but towards the north and west the soil is very coarse and difficult to farm. Galway abounds with rivers and lakes: major rivers are the Shannon, the Suck, and the Blackwater lakes: lough Corrib, lough Reagh, and lough Contra.

Largest town, City Galway. Pop. 286,921 (1826).

Search Page